What's onSchool open daysCommunityParish CouncilLocal directoryOffers & competitionsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Alveston Twinning Association Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors Active In Good Hands Lisa Costa Estate Agent

What's on


Friday 19th May 2017, 7.30pm

Music at St Helen's Church - Simon Mayor & Hilary James

St Helen's Church, Alveston

This duo's musical diversity and wry wit always translates into a hugely entertaining stage show. Their performances can range from beautifully evocative Irish ballads into a mandolin and guitar version of Handel's Arrival Of the Queen Of Sheba and can then drop into one of their own notorious comic songs with wry humour and an easy, informal stage manner.
Simon, one of the world's foremost mandolinists, is constantly in demand to play and teach at festivals and workshops. Hilary's elegant singing has received huge acclaim and her mandobass has become a trademark. It has such a large presence that it is often referred to as the third member of the duo. Together they are a force of nature that deliver genre defying uplifting music that encompasses folk, blues, jazz and the occasional classically inspired piece.
They have supported “Fairport Convention” on a UK tour and at Cropredy festival which has resulted in their music being appreciated by a much wider audience.
Tickets £13 from Steve 07760 991297 or email.

Email:



Venue information

St Helen's Church, Alveston
Greenhill, Alveston, BS35 3QT
www.alveston.org/alveston/st-hele...


Ronnie's Restaurant

Alveston House Hotel

Other events

Friday 20th October 2017

Saturday 21st October 2017

Monday 23rd October 2017

Tuesday 24th October 2017

Wednesday 25th October 2017

Thursday 26th October 2017

Friday 27th October 2017

Sunday 29th October 2017

Tuesday 31st October 2017

Click here for more events.




© 2017 Cromhall Media Ltd